May 09, 2024, 11:17 pm

News:

SMF - Just Installed!

Shaw's 2D stuff

Started by Shaw, May 29, 2019, 01:14 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Shaw

Since the site is starting over, I'm going to pretend that I haven't shared any of this stuff with you guys before.

My background is in mathematics and physics. My main areas of interest are differential topology (immersions of manifolds and homotopy theory) and general relativity. What some people find odd is that I'm actually not that good at math... I'm barely passible in most cases. What I was good at was visualization of geometric and topological concepts. I could see (mentally) things that were happening in complex immersions/embeddings, even beyond 3 dimensions. And in a lot of cases, I would work backwards from what I was visualizing to putting down the mathematical expressions because it was easier for me.

But that was years (decades) ago. I still practice visualization because it is good exercise and fun (and sometimes produces stuff that is esthetically pleasing... at least to me). Every few years or so I'll sit down with pencil and paper and draw out an immersion of the Real Projective Plane into Euclidean three-space.

Here are a few examples...

Click images to enlarge

There are other ways to do this. Back when I was at the National Science Foundation's Geometry Center we had an application that let us do it with a polyhedral version...

Click images to enlarge

Which is why I keep some pretty old computers around (for example, I can't afford a current version of Mathematica, and for me there is nothing wrong with the copy of version 3.0 that I own).

And there are nicer generic smooth versions of this immersion, like this one...

But the problem with computer generated versions is that it takes the work out of visualizing the surface. Passively looking at something isn't the same as being personally responsible for every aspect of a surface.

Okay, enough of the math stuff...